top of page

Robots on the train!

Last week I helped out at the Bourke St accident site as a personal support person as I have been trained to assist in emergency events. I had to travel in by train which is something I have not done on my own in rush hour for about 30 years so I was absolutely stepping out of my comfort zone.

The station I needed to go to was the very first stop and the train was about to leave so most of the travellers were already on board there were just a few including myself that were hurrying as not to miss this one. At least I would get a seat as standing with my bung hip I knew for certain I would get thrown around and land in someone's lap.

What I did notice by the 3rd stop there was a new rule for travelling on the train that I knew nothing about. Was this new rule just for trains or for all public transport? I observed for the next few stops and it seemed like everyone knew this new rule but me but I hadn't seen it advertised in the paper on the news or for that matter facebook.

On what date, in what year and by whom did it get decided that once entering a train you sit or stand and you put your head down and then freeze like a robot. No eye contact, no conversation, no emotions. It didn't matter if you were dressed in business attire, trackies. had kids with you or a bike, you all did exactly the same, you entered the train, head down and froze into position.

I was the only one that wasn't being involved in this new arrangement and I can tell you I felt like I had just landed on another planet and I was the only human in the carriage. Every single person was wired up to a phone, head down, silent and frozen like a robot and only every now and then I could hear the ping of a message that had come through on a phone.

I must be really from the dark ages because when I sat next to someone on public transport you were greeted with hello or good morning and you most likely had a conversation with that person unless of course they were ready the paper and then you got a grunt.

What a shame the art of having a conversation with a stranger has gone as you learnt so much about others, what was happening in your area and beyond. Yes, I know you can do all that on a phone but effortless, emotionless like a robot.

Today if you sit next to a person you have never met please say hello or good morning and see where the conversation takes you.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page